Government halts non-essential travel

Government halts non-essential travel

Government halts non-essential travel

13 categories of State Officers’ non-essential travel has been put on hold by President William Ruto today.The measure was stated as a component of realizing wise and responsible use of public funds in a memo signed by Chief of Staff Felix Koskei.

Members of the National and County Governments are impacted by the ban on international travel. The new ban will not apply to Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua or Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi. The Attorney General, Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries, County Officers, and the Controller of the Budget are among the officials who are impacted.

The Auditor General, Chief Judiciary Registrar, Director of Public Prosecutions, Senate Clerk, and his counterpart in the National Assembly are among the others. The new rule will also apply to all county governors, secretaries, and assembly clerks.

Koskei further stated that non-essential travel will be prohibited for the Chairpersons and CEOs of State Corporations, Statutory Offices and Commissions, as well as Independent Offices.The notice stated, in part, that this was necessary due to the need to reduce and prioritize spending, focusing on operations and activities that were crucial to providing services to the public.

The government declared that moving forward, only official government business or travel for the purpose of performing statutory leadership would be permitted to Kenyans abroad.The administration put a halt to training programs and other capacity-building initiatives, as well as benchmarking and study tours, with immediate effect.

The aforementioned state executives and commissioners won’t be permitted to travel abroad for research, academic gatherings, conferences, or meetings with widespread attendance.Koskei further stated that association meetings, side events, and caucus gatherings were all outlawed with immediate effect.

State Officers were informed that “sponsored events, which frequently necessitate supplementation in the form of quarter per diem and ticket upgrade, are similarly suspended, unless the invitees expressly waive the anticipated top-up amount.” A cabinet secretary may travel with up to two people if necessary, however the principal secretary is only permitted to take one staff member.

“Delegations accompanying the President, the First Lady, the Deputy President, and the Prime Cabinet Secretary shall strictly be approved for officials playing a direct role in the scheduled role,” Koskei said.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.