Kipchoge Receives Over Ksh7 Million After Berlin Marathon Victory

Kipchoge Receives Over Ksh7 Million After Berlin Marathon Victory

Kipchoge Receives Over Ksh7 Million After Berlin Marathon Victory

After winning the 42-kilometer Berlin Marathon in Germany, renowned Kenyan marathoner Eliud  Kipchoge will be beaming from ear to ear. Kipchoge finished first in the race with a time of 2:02:42, 1 minute and 33 seconds  slower than his record-breaking time from the same competition in 2022.

Kipchoge will receive Ksh7.3 million ($50,000), which is the prize money for both male and female champions, for his outstanding performance.However, the athlete forfeited Ksh4.3 million in prizes paid to racers who beat the previous record of 2:01:09 Kipchoge set in 2017.

Kipchoge will get an undefined sum that is likely to be in the millions of dollars, but he will not receive the Ksh5 million incentive that President William Ruto promised to every athlete who sets a record.Ferdinand Omanyala, a sprinter who competes in the 100-meter event, was given Ksh2 million by the Head of State in June despite his failure to break the world record.

In a press conference in Berlin, Kipchoge stated that he has set his sights on the  forthcoming Olympics in Paris even though he had anticipated breaking his record  from 2022. “I was hoping to (break the world record), but it did not go as planned, and that is  how sports are,” the speaker said. I’ve gained knowledge. Despite winning, I haven’t shattered the world record. Every race is an opportunity for growth, said Kipchoge. In general, the BMW Berlin Marathon offers a combined prize pool of Ksh26 million  to male and female race winners. In addition to the bonuses given to record breakers, the male and female  champions received Ksh4.6 million (160,000 Euros) each.

After winning the race a record-tying fifth time, Kipchoge has solidified his position as the top athlete in the Berlin Marathon with the victory.In 2017, he won with a time of 2:03:32, and in 2018, he set a new record with a time of 2:01:39. In 2022, he would break that record yet again.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.